Turkey, the Kurds and the Imrali Peace Process:

An Historic Opportunity


Brussels, European Parliament, 4th & 5th of December 2013 Room: ASP 1G2 

Interpretation available in 

Turkish, English, French, German, Dutch



Archbishop Emeritus Desmond Tutu

Nobel Peace Prize Laureate, South Africa


Dr. Shirin Ebadi

Nobel Peace Prize Laureate, Iran


Bianca Jagger

Council of Europe Goodwill Ambassador

Chair of the Bianca Jagger Human Rights Foundation, UK


Professor Noam Chomsky

Writer, USA


Yasar Kemal

Writer, Turkey


Vedat Turkali

Writer, Turkey


Leyla Zana

European Parliament’s Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought,

Rafto Prize Laureate, Turkey





An official “European Parliament personal badge / pass” will be provided to all participants to the Conference.

All participants MUST communicate by mail to [email protected] the following information:

1) Name and surname

2) Date of birth

3) Place and country of residence (if possible, the full address of residence)

4) Number of a valid document (ex: passport, national ID, etc…)

This information must be sent to the above-mentioned mail before the 28th of NOVEMBER 2013.

Please note that NO ACCREDITATION will be accepted after this deadline, according to the rules established by the Security Department of the European Parliament.

Your “personal badge / pass” will be available at the main entrance of the European Parliament (Place de Luxembourg – main European Parliament’s building “Altiero Spinelli” – just after the sliding doors you’ll find a conference desk), during AND ONLY the following date / hours.

– Wednesday 4th of December 2013, from 14h00 until 16h30

– Thursday 5th of December 2013, from 08h30 until 10h30

– Thursday 5th of December 2013, from 14h00 until 16h00

Please note that all participants must take care of their own “EP badge / pass” during both days; if someone lose the “pass / badge” it will be impossible for the conference’s organizers to replace it, according to the E.P. internal rules.

For any additional information, please contact the conference’s secretariat:

[email protected]

Wednesday, 4th December 2013, 15.00-16.30

Opening Session, Room ASP 1G2


Opening Remarks and Greetings

MEP Ms. Gabi Zimmer

Chair of the European United Left – Nordic Green Left Group (GUE/NGL) in the

European Parliament, Germany

Ms. Kariane Westrheim, PhD

Chair of EUTCC, Associate Professor, University of Bergen, Norway

Opening Speeches:

MP Ms. Leyla Zana

Member of the Parliament, European Parliament’s Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought, Rafto Prize Laureate, Turkey

MEP Mr. Jürgen Klute

Coordinator of the EP-Kurds Friendship Group, GUE/NGL Group, Germany

Me Antoine Comte, Lawyer , France


Video messages of Conference’s Patrons 

Video trailer of previous nine conferences 

Professor Noam Chomsky, Writer, the USA 

Yasar Kemal, Writer, Turkey 

Wednesday, 4th December 2013, 16.30-18.30

Panel I, Room ASP 1G2 

Reforming the State and Reconciling Society:

Constitutional, political and social reforms in Turkey


MEP Mr. Iñaki Irazabalbeitia Fernández, Greens-EFA Group


MP Gulten Kisanak, co-Chair, BDP, Turkey

MP AKP, Turkey (to be confirmed)

MP Sezgin Tanrıkulu, CHP MP for Istanbul, Turkey 

Emma Sinclair-Webb, Senior Researcher, Human Rights Watch

Hüseyin Yayman, Academic & Member of the Wise people Commission, Turkey 

Dogu Ergil, Academic & Member of the Wise people Commission, Turkey 

Hasan Cemal, Journalist, Turkey 

Hugh Pope, International Crisis Group

Questions and discussion with moderators & discussants

Thursday, 5th December 2013, 09.30-13.00

Panel II, Room ASP 1G2

Peace-building Initiatives and Imrali Peace Process: 

The role of the international community and the EU in promoting

justice and democracy in Turkey



MEP Mr. Søren Bo Søndergaard, GUE/NGL Group, Denmark


MP Ertugrul Kurkcu, co-Chair of the People’s Democratic Party (HDP), Turkey

Mr. Yonnec Polet, Deputy Secretary General of the Party of European Socialists (PES), Belgium

MEP Mark Demesmaeker, Greens-EFA Group, Belgium

Mr. David L. Phillips, Director, Program on Peace-building and Rights, Columbia University Institute for the Study of Human Rights, USA 

Dr. Günter Seufert, German Institute for International and Security Affairs – SWP, Germany 

Mr. Günay Aslan, Journalist 

Questions and discussion with moderators & discussants

Thursday, 5th December 2013, 15.00-17.30

Panel III, Room ASP 1G2

The Kurdish Democratic Project:

Strategies and policies to bring peace to the Middle East


Professor Michael Gunter, EUTCC, United States of America

Mr. Jonathan Spyer,  Middle East Analyst, Israel 

Mr. Joost Jongerden, Academic, The Netherlands 

Mr. Mala Bakhtiyar, Chief of Executive Body of Political Bureau, Patriotic Union of Kurdistan – PUK, Kurdistan

Amberin Zaman, Turkey Correspondent of the Economist, Turkey

Zübeyir Aydar, Member of the Executive Board of Kurdistan National Congress (KNK)

Saleh Muslim, Co-President of the Syrian Kurdish Democratic Union Party (PYD), Syria

Questions and discussion with moderators & discussants

Thursday, 5th December 2013, 17.30-18.30

Panel IV, Room ASP 1G2

Conclusions, Recommendations and Final Remarks

by EUTCC Board Members